Wicked Rain

WickedRain

Sitting by the roadside
looking at lives pass by
people in a hurry
looking at their watches
walking in a frantic pace
with worries on their face

verse 1
I looked up on the dark skies
the wind is getting cold
as drops of water fell
into my face
I closed my eyes
rain flowed through my skin

chorus 1
Sitting by the roadside
looking at lives pass by
people in a hurry
looking at their watches
walking in a frantic pace
with worries on their face
Yeah yeah yeah…

chorus 2
Life oh life
is a WickedRain
you cry you try
and you carry all the pain
Life oh life
is a WickedRain
you cry you try
and you carry all the pain
yeah yeah yeah…

verse 2
Anything your saying
leave echoes in my heart
and like grasses they keep on waving
a never ending goodbye

repeat chorus 1-2
______________________________________________

notes:

Wrote this song a couple of years past. It’s my first conscious writing about a fleeting moment. I learned this type of writing when I watched a songwriting contest, then a very respected judge of the show, a writer himself gave a very educational and sound advice on lyric writing which could be applied to writing in general, I think. He told the joining songwriters and the interested audience that writing, specially song lyric writing that strongly conveys an opinion is already outdated and will mostly likely sound like a cliché, just simply tell your story. Just like when you picked up a stone and you found something lying underneath, he added. At least thats how I understood what he meant, I’ve already forgotten the actual words he said.

I myself most of the time do not feel interested when someone is telling me what is right or wrong. I mean, I already know that, and ‘am tired having my war with that ever since the world begun, and maybe that goes with most people. We wish no reiteration with that. Most of us want to know what you saw, how it happened and what you felt on that very moment.

I think when I tell people my opinion about “things”, I’m actually imparting to them a bias, a notion, created by folks that touched my past, by books I read, worst by fictional movies I’ve attended. I think by striving to simply tell people our very pure little story, we are sharing to them a water so pure and fresh, a water we took directly from the mother stream called Life.

If any of the reader be wandr’n why I harshly called Life a Wicked Rain, well that’s what I felt at Her that time. I can’t love Mother all the time, can I…? I even curse Her at times, then send my apologies later when my mind is back in line. 🙂 sorry…

This is hard work and very good for countering our vanity. Don’t be sad if we aren’t able with this at times, we are just humans we all know..

Thank you much for the time.. 🙂
_________________________________________________________
words and music: nersønangelø

...

